For questions, please check the categorization breakdown page or email studentactivities.ucs@gmail.com

IMPORTANT: Groups must wait one full semester of being in effect before moving to the next category. For example, if a group applied for categorization as a category I group in Fall 2016 semester, the group’s CAT I status takes effect in the following Spring 2017 semester. Therefore, the group is eligible to apply for re-categorization of CAT II status in Fall 2017 semester. Please make sure your group has fulfilled the eligible time requirement.

Step 1.  Log-in to BearSync and navigate to your organization's portal (click "My Memberships" and select your group's page). Note: The re-categorization form is different from the new student group form.

Step 2. Click on the "Forms" tab in the horizontal menu bar.

Step 3. Collect member signatures. Please include members’ full name, class year, and email on the signature sheet

  • You’ll need at least 10 signatures for Category S
  • You’ll need at least 15 signatures for Category II and III groups

Step 4. Complete the Re-Categorization application: attach constitution and member signatures. Do not submit your application until after meeting with your Student Activities representative.

Note: The BearSync application does not save your work. We suggest that you draft your answers in a separate document before submitting them to BearSync.

Step 5. Email constitution and membership roster to your organization type's corresponding SA representative (below).

Step 6. Meet with assigned UCS Student Activities Committee Representative: SA reps are a resource to help you with the application process and answer any questions. Once you have met with your representative, you should submit the application.

Applications are considered incomplete if the group leader does not meet with a SA rep! 

*Important Note. In Spring 2016, The Campus of Consent Bill was passed unanimously by UCS and endorsed by over 100 student groups. Starting Spring 2018, the bill will aim to help tackle rape culture and sexual assault at Brown by requiring all category III student groups to have a liaison annually trained by the Sexual Assault Peer Education Program (SAPE).


2017-2018 SA Representatives

IMPORTANT: SA Reps must be contacted at least a week before the application deadline to set up a meeting. Applications are considered incomplete if the group leader does not meet with a SA rep!

William Zhou
Student Activities Chair
william_zhou@brown.edu

Morgan Awner & Alex Song
Academic and Professional
morgan_awner@brown.edu
alex_song@brown.edu

Kathryn Stack
Campus Resources and Recreational
kathryn_stack@brown.edu

Patrick Gilfillan
Gender and Sexuality
patrick_gilfillan@brown.edu

Jason Carroll
Political and Social Action
jason_carroll@brown.edu

Katherine Barry
Residential and Greek
katherine_barry@brown.edu

Sarah Wang
Arts and Performance
sarah_wang@brown.edu

Gregory Davis & Tina Tan
Cultural and Ethnic
gregory_davis@brown.edu
tina_tan@brown.edu

Rainy Duan & Dhruv Singh
Media and Publications
rainy_duan@brown.edu
dhruv_singh@brown.edu

Mary Stack
Religious and Spirituality
mary_stack@brown.edu

Elizabeth Wang
Service
elizabeth_wang1@brown.edu


Decisions

Applications will be reviewed on a rolling basis. Groups will be notified their decisions after being reviewed and approved by both the UCS Student Activities Committee and UCS General Body.   

Appeals

Appeals should be submitted to studentactivities.ucs@gmail.com within 7 days of the date when the original decision is sent out. It must include a written request and reasons for the appeal. The group will have a hearing with the UCS Student Activities Committee within 14 days after the appeal is received.