For questions, please check the categorization breakdown page or email studentactivities.ucs@gmail.com

IMPORTANT: Groups must wait one full semester of being in effect before moving to the next category. For example, if a group applied for categorization as a category I group in Fall 2016 semester, the group’s CAT I status takes effect in the following Spring 2017 semester. Therefore, the group is eligible to apply for re-categorization of CAT II status in Fall 2017 semester. Please make sure your group has fulfilled the eligible time requirement.

Step 1.  Log-in to BearSync and navigate to your organization's portal (click "My Memberships" and select your group's page). Note: The re-categorization form is different from the new student group form.

Step 2. Click on the "Forms" tab in the horizontal menu bar.

Step 3. Collect member signatures. Please include members’ full name, class year, and email on the signature sheet

  • You’ll need at least 10 signatures for Category S
  • You’ll need at least 15 signatures for Category II and III groups

Step 4. Update constitution with any new amendments. NOTE: To help reduce ambiguity and to extend Title IX & Protections, club constitutions must now include a member dismissal clause, an example can be found here.

Step 5. Complete the Re-Categorization application: attach constitution and member signatures. Submit your application before meeting with your Student Activities representative.

Note: The BearSync application does not save your work. We suggest that you draft your answers in a separate document before submitting them to BearSync.

Step 6. Meet with assigned UCS Student Activities Committee Representative: SA reps are a resource to help you with the application process and answer any questions. Emails (below)

Applications are considered incomplete if the group leader does not meet with a SA rep!


2017-2018 SA Representatives

IMPORTANT: SA Reps must be contacted at least a week before the application deadline to set up a meeting. Applications are considered incomplete if the group leader does not meet with a SA rep!

William Zhou
Student Activities Chair
william_zhou@brown.edu

Morgan Awner & Alex Song
Academic and Professional
morgan_awner@brown.edu
alex_song@brown.edu

Kathryn Stack
Campus Resources and Recreational
kathryn_stack@brown.edu

Dhruv Singh
Gender and Sexuality
dhruv_singh@brown.edu

Jason Carroll
Political and Social Action
jason_carroll@brown.edu

Katherine Barry
Residential and Greek
katherine_barry@brown.edu

 

Sarah Wang
Arts and Performance
sarah_wang@brown.edu

Katherine Barry
Cultural and Ethnic
katherine_barry@brown.edu

Rainy Duan
Media and Publications
rainy_duan@brown.edu

Mary Stack
Religious and Spirituality
mary_stack@brown.edu

Elizabeth Wang
Service
elizabeth_wang1@brown.edu

 


Decisions

Applications will be reviewed on a rolling basis. Groups will be notified of their decisions after being reviewed and approved by both the UCS Student Activities Committee and UCS General Body. This process usually takes several weeks so submit as soon as possible to hear back earlier.

Appeals

Appeals should be submitted to studentactivities.ucs@gmail.com within 7 days of the date when the original decision is sent out. It must include a written request and reasons for the appeal. The group will have a hearing with the UCS Student Activities Committee within 14 days after the appeal is received.